How to make pywin32 work on Windows 7 (x64) and Python 2.6(x86) ? (if all else fails)

well, simply install it.

but, there’s a catch! …. even if you have installed 32 bit version of python, and everything seems to be going well, you might fall into that trap where no matter WHAT you do, it won’t get installed.

I am using python 2.6 (32 bit) over Windows 7 (64 bit). I needed to install pywin32 for a django application, which seemed like a straight forward thing to do. First road block was that neither the easy_install nor the pip could find it (I prefer using them as they tend to install proper dependecies and take a lot of overhead out of the equation). So I downloaded the pywin32-214.win32.py2.6.exe (the exe installer).

While installing it appeared as if it hadn’t installed, but, checking in the python26/Lib/site-packages folder revealed that it had made a pywin32 folder, and copied its files. I could also see that pip was also functioning normally on > pip uninstall pywin32 command.

On the browser however, It started giving me a missing DLL error. The browser stack trace wasn’t providing any useful information. So I had to used the Dependency Walker to find out the missing DLL’s. I fed the dependency walker the installed file C:\Python26\Lib\site-packages\pythonwin\Pythonwin.exe file, and it responded with naming two missing DLL’s:

GPSVC.dll
IEFRAME.dll

I downloaded the above files from the http://dll-files.com and re-ran the Dependency Walker, this time around it gave me two more missing DLL’s

IEHIMS.dll
SYSNTFY.dll

Now the Dependency Walker was reporting “All is well”, but still the application was crashng and giving out missing DLL error without specifying a name for the file.

I uninstalled and tried to re-install the pywin32 using “run as administrator” rights, still the same result.

After about 45 minutes hit and trial and polishing my creative googling skills a little further, I found this forum entry http://www.python-forum.org/pythonforum/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=17163&p=156600

So as suggested, uninstalled the pythonwin32 via pip, right clicked the exe installer, and selected “Troubleshoot compatibility”. That RESOLVED IT. resolved it. Thanks aragon (the guy who posted the solution on python-forum)

Related info:
OS: Windows 7 (x64)
Python: 2.6 (win32)

Missing DLL’s:
GPSVC.dll
IEFRAME.dll
IEHIMS.dll
SYSNTFY.dll

Troubleshoot Compatibility: Ran for win xp service pack 2

Dependency Walker: http://www.dependencywalker.com/depends22_x86.zip

Leave a comment